Series Reviews

The Get Down is exactly what I’ve been waiting for (Part 1 Review)

One word “amazing”. I’m sure the rest of you Hip-hop heads feel the same way. I’ve seen some great reviews and some that felt the Netflix series had a few flaws. Despite the bad reviews, I absolutely love this show.I’ve been waiting for something like this for some time. I was so hurt to see that I have to wait until next year to watch part 2.

Sad-Cry-Crying-Unhappy-Not-happy-GIF

I won’t spoil anything for those who haven’t watched yet. I just had to make a post about this amazing show. People can say what they want this show was well needed. I was born in 91′ and although I don’t know everything about Hip-Hop Culture being that I wasn’t there to witness everything. I’m very passionate about hip hop and know a lot! Sadly many people my age and younger that know nothing about the birth of hip-hop, So this show will definitely give them an insight on that. Although The Get Down Brothers are fictional characters the show has Hip-Hop Pioneers like Dj- Kool Herc, GrandMaster Flash are portrayed in the show. Also, The Soul Sonic force is mentioned. The actual footage of the Bronx during the late 70’s definitely made me feel like I was watching a show from that time.

the-get-down-soundtrack (1)

I thought actors Shameik Moore (Shaolin Fantastic) and Mamoudou Athie (GrandMaster Flash) did a great job on the scenes where Grandmaster is teaching Shaolin how to become a DJ. Those have to be my favorite scenes so far! I will say Mylene’s storyline is my least favorite although I do like it. I won’t say too much, just a brief review. I can’t wait until part 2!

Leave a Reply

